Brazilian Parrot Bottle Cap Mural

One of my school’s field day was themed for the 2016 summer Olympics in Rio. To honor the Rio Olympics I thought it would be cool for the whole school to build a collaborative mosaic mural of a Brazilian parrot! The kids collected bottle caps for me all last year but I ran out of time to do anything with them. This was the perfect occasion! I was able to teach the kids a little about wildlife in Brazil AND teach them about recycled/found object art.IMG_5383[1]

IMG_5324[1]

Here is a time laps video I took of k-5 students building the mural.

It was created on a flattened out cardboard box that some of my supplies came in. I just use regular old Elmer glue that the students applied using old paintbrushes. Everyone loved how it turned out. It was finished just in time to be displayed in the county’s annual art show.

IMG_5451[1]

 

Leave a Reply

