Matisse’s Goldfish

3rd Grade Lesson:

  • For this lesson, I read my third grade students the book “A Bird or Two”. We talked about the beautiful bright colors Matisse uses and what inspired him.
  • Then we discusses the three dimensional shape, the cylinder. We looked at a cylinder and how it was a circle when you looked directly at the top or bottom but changed to an oval as you tilted it.
  • The students used black oil pastel to draw the scene and then painted it in with tempera paint. I only gave them the primary colors plus black and white because I really wanted the students to experiment with creating their own colors. They loved showing me the colors they came up with!

For more details on how to do this lesson check out where I got my inspiration from, Deep Space Sparkle!

Leave a Reply

